2019 Authors Day

Save the date. AAUW Authors Day, Sat. Oct. 26, 2019
Colorado Springs Shrine Club 6 S 33rd St
Author! Author!

On October 26, we celebrate the Colorado Springs AAUW Authors Day and Silent Auction, a must attend event for all members and guests! Each year, Authors Day ticket sales and accompanying silent auction are a major source of funds for the college scholarships our Branch awards.
So, what’s in it for you besides the chance to support our mission?
• A delish buffet breakfast with lots of good friends
• A chance to browse the silent auction tables and place bids on one or more fun gifts…from wine, coffee, and pampering gift baskets, to art, travel, and more. There’s something for everyone…but you’ll need to check back often to make sure a friend hasn’t upped the bid!
• The privilege to hear from three stellar Colorado authors (this year, all women) who will
entertain, inform and inspire us as they talk about their journeys, their writing process and their books.
• The opportunity to purchase a signed copy of one or more of the books you’ll be hearing
about…for your own library or as a holiday gift.
In the weeks ahead, you’ll be hearing much more about this wonderful morning, but for now, here’s a sneak preview…
Our keynote author will be Colorado-based Eleanor Brown, New York Times best-selling author of “The Weird Sisters” (Shakespeare’s Macbeth, anyone?) and her most recent novel “The Light of Paris.” Inspired by letters her grandmother had written from Paris in the 1920s, Brown delves into the lives of a grandmother, who fled to Paris to find herself as a writer, and her granddaughter, a talented painter who, in the 1990s, is trapped in a stifling marriage that has undermined her confidence and creativity. What happens when the granddaughter/ narrator finds her grandmother’s diary from Paris? Can she find the strength to live the life she was meant to have?
From the Minneapolis Star Tribune…
Fresh, endearing…Finely written and absorbing. Explores the always- compelling questions of how to balance reality and romance, duty and dreams, family and freedom.
Library Journal …
For all fans of intelligent women’s literature.
A charming novel about living life on your own that will make you long for the streets of Paris.

Watch for more details and how to rsvp in our September Branch newsletter.  In the meantime, please save the date, Oct 26. Au Revoir!